Council finalists in national climate awards

Local councils’ frontline efforts against climate change such as through energy efficiency, an electric vehicle charging network, and championing their communities are among the finalists of the Cities Power Partnership’s annual national climate awards.

More than two dozen councils have been short listed, ranging from metropolitan councils to rural and regional ones across Australia.

Pam Townshend, Shire President of Augusta Margaret River Shire (WA) and Tony Wellington, Mayor, Noosa Council (QLD), are contesting the Ambassador award for leading their communities’ efforts against climate change.

“It’s time to celebrate these unsung climate heroes in local government, who are helping their communities to drive down local greenhouse gas pollution,” said David Craven, Director of the Cities Power Partnership.

The judges include Alice Springs Mayor Damian Ryan, an ALGA Board Member.

The winners will be announced in Sydney on 29 August.