Nominate your council for 2020 National Awards for Local Government

Holly Cowdery, formerly of Willoughby City Council, holds her National Award for Local Government

Are there initiatives or projects your local government is undertaking to improve your community that you think deserve national recognition?

Nominate them for the 2020 National Awards for Local Government, entries for which close 7 February 2020.

Entries can be projects or initiatives of any size that are delivering positive community benefits, or are expected to, once the project is complete.

Next year’s awards encompass 10 categories including community leadership, Indigenous recognition, road safety, and regional growth.

Landscape architect Holly Cowdery (pictured), who this year received the inaugural Susan Grace Benny Award for Women in Local Government and Community for project managing the $10.5m redevelopment of a park in northern Sydney, encouraged others to nominate.

“Following on from receiving [the award], I have been approached by project managers from other councils requesting information in relation to the success of the Gore Hill Park Redevelopment,” said Holly, who was honoured for the project while with Willoughby City Council.

“Winning the award has lifted my profile within Local Government and within the industry, and further opportunities have opened up for me as the award confirmed my abilities as a successful Project Manager.

“I have recently commenced a role in the Major Projects team of another Sydney-based council.

“It has been a great privilege to see the impact that the award has had in recognising the work of women.”

All elected Local Government organisations (councils, shires and other recognised organisations that provide direct services to Australian communities) are eligible to enter, and can nominate for as many categories as they like, award organiser the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development said.

See here for earlier ALGA News profiles of the 2019 winners.

Image: Landscape architect Holly Cowdery, formerly of Willoughby City Council and now Hornsby Shire Council, holds her Susan Grace Benny Award.