Vinnies’ drought funds in four states

The Commonwealth Government has tapped the St Vincent de Paul Society’s National Council to distribute $15m of drought assistance for farmers to local government areas in four states.

The money will be shared by 64 LGAs in Queensland, NSW, Victoria and South Australia, while the initiative will be directed from Canberra.

Ngaire McCubben, who coordinated the drought assistance money under the last program, will again manage the initiative, the Society said.

An interim call centre will be set up to direct inquiries. The Society said the project is expected to run until mid-2020.